Tags

, , , ,

I’m still working out a schedule for posts, but I think every other Wednesday I will post about what I’m reading. I am a bookworm after all and so far I have read 34 books in 2012 (but some were short stories so it’s more like 30)

I recently finished the Wool series by Hugh Howey . The first, Wool, is just a short story and each installment in the series gets a little bit longer until Wool 5: The Stranded which is 60,000 words.
I really liked this series a lot. It takes place in a post-apocalyptic future. Earth is inhabitable and humans now live underground in a giant silo. When a person breaks a law, which could be something as simple as talking about the world outside the silo, they are sent to cleaning. This involves going out into the toxic environment and cleaning the sensors above ground that shows the skyline of a crumbling city. Cleaners don’t come back inside.

I definitely recommend reading the series to anyone who likes conspiracy, sci-fi and post-apocalyptic fiction.

Currently I am reading First Shift – Legacy, which is by the same author and tells the story of how the silo came to exisit and why humans had to move underground in the first place. I’m enjoying it so far even it jumps around a lot. The previous books jumped around too, but that was just person to person whereas this book is not only jumping person to person but also to different time periods. It’s interesting.

What are you reading right now? Any suggestions for good summer reading?

2012 Reading Challenge

2012 Reading Challenge
Laura has
read 34 books toward her goal of 60 books.
hide
view books

