Tags

, , , , ,

Last night the hubby and I watched the 1994 movie PCU starring David Spade, Jeremy Piven, and Chris Young. It’s about a high school student or “pre-frosh”, Tom (Chris Young), who is visiting the fictional Port Chester University to see if he wants to go there. He meets “Droz” (Jeremy Piven) in the “Pit”, which used to be a fraternity, but they are now banned on campus. The film talks about political correctness a lot (hense the PC in PCU, not the Port Chester). Tom seems to offend every group on campus the first day he is there, including the vegans. I gotta say I did NOT like that scene!

The movie is typical of university set movies. Beer, weed, girls, jocks, preps. It was ok to watch on a boring Thursday night, but it’s not going on my All-Time Favourite Movies list. It’s saving grace is having George Clinton and Parliament-Funkadelic in it though. I was grooving to that a bit on the couch.

I have to say that I really don’t like David Spade. His “thing” seems to be taking on unlikable characters though so I guess it’s working for him. I cannot STAND his whine. Ugh. Nails on a chalk board.

All in all, if you’re bored and like these kind of movies, give it watch to be transported back to the ’90s. Or skip it. There’s plenty of better ’90s movies out there.

