Tags

, , , , , , ,

Right now, I am reading The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel.

The story takes place over 30,000 years ago. It follows Ayla, a young girl of the “Others” who orphaned after an earthquake when she was only 5. She is found by neanderthals known as the Clan of the Cave Bear and raised as a Clan member by the medicine woman and the magician of the group. However, no matter how hard she tries, she will always be different. While most of the clan accept her and believe that she brings them luck, Broud, the man next in line to rule the clan, hates Ayla and loves to make her life difficult.

I am roughly 60% into the book. While it’s not the most vegan story (there’s a lot of animals killed for food, clothing, protection, etc.) I am really enjoying it. There are 6 books in the series, known as the Earth’s Children Series, with the Clan of the Cave Bear being released in 1980 and the last one came out in the spring of 2011. I’m really looking forward to reading this series through the summer. My aunt originally recommended it but I kind of forgot. Then when I asked friends on Facebook for some summer reading recommendations, it came up again and I took that as a sign that I needed to put the series on my Kindle.

Have you read the Earth’s Children series? Did you enjoy it? What are you reading this summer?

~Laura

