Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last night I took myself on a date and saw Moonrise Kingdom in the theatre. I desperately wanted to see this movie after seeing the trailer.

It is directed by one of my favourite directors, Wes Anderson. It is set on a small New England Island that is only accessable by boat or sea plane. Two twelve year olds, Suzy and Sam, become pen pals for a year after a chance meeting at a church play. Szuy lives on the island with her parents and Sam, an orphan is sent to summer camp on the island by his foster parents. Through their letters, they set up a scheme to run away together. Suzy’s parents, the island police, Social Services and Sam’s Khaki Scout troup are all looking for them.

I LOVED this film, so I’m going to gush a bit in this review.
I adored the all-star cast. Hello! Bill Murray, Bruce Willis, Edward Norton, Frances McDormand, Tilda Swinton, Harvey Keital, Jason Schwartzman. Not to mention newcomers Kara Hayward and Jared Gilman, who were both phenominal as Suzy and Sam. Jared reminds me of a young Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

Visually, this film is totally Wes Anderson. There is so much detail! Nothing is overlooked. I absolutely loved the shots where there were just THINGS arranged like in the shot of the beach with Suzy’s yellow suitcase just off to the right, the latern to the left, the record player in the middle, waves lapping the shore. Brilliant. It really made me want to live on an island in 1965 in New England. Or at least live

These are some other great shots from the movie:





I really fell in love with Suzy and Sam. Moonrise Kingdoms is one of those movies where you wish it was a television series so you can follow the characters through more adventures. It is now one of my favourite films and I already eager to see it again.
My only critisim of the entire film is that there wasn’t enough Bill Murray. I highly recommend that you go see this film. It it worth it to see in theatres, in my opinion. I’ll definitely be buying it to add to my DVD collection when it comes out as well. So what are you waiting for? Go see Moonrise Kingdom!

~Laura

