Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yesterday I started the 3rd book in the Earth’s Children series by Jean Auel, The Mammoth Hunters. I also finished the second book, The Valley of Horses.

I really enjoyed the first book. The second book got off to a slow start. There was too much new information thrown at me at one time and I didn’t really start to like the story until Ayla and Jondalar met. Then it got good (and sexy).

I had noticed it a bit myself with the second book, but after speaking to a friend who just finished the 6th and last book of the series, I understand that there is a LOT of repetition in the Earth Children’s books. I’m used to it with series that tend to recap the events of the previous books, but apparently Jean Auel leans on repetition heavily as the series progresses. I really doubt someone is going to dive into the series without starting at the beginning. I do get that when you take YEARS to come out with the next book, maybe you want to refresh everyone’s memory, but I know I personally reread books when the next one is coming out. Plus, as soon as I get back into the character’s story, everything comes back to me. Rarely do I ever say to myself “I don’t remember that happening!”.

After seeing a few reviews on Goodreads it looks like a lot of people didn’t enjoy the last book. It kind of puts a damper on reading when you expect the worse, but maybe now that my hopes aren’t so high it won’t be such of a let down when I get there. So I’m going to finish the series, regardless.

What are you reading? Are you enjoying it? Have you sneaked a peek at the reviews?

~Laura

