Tags

, , , , ,

On Tuesday, after our office lunch we had a choice between seeing Ted or Rock of Ages. Since I hadn’t heard very good reviews of Rock of Ages, I decided to see Ted.



Ted is co-written, produced and directed by Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlene. He also does the voice of Ted. The movie is about a teddy bear that comes to life after a little boy makes a wish and it takes place 27 years later when that boy, John (played by Mark Wahlberg), is now a man with responsibilities and the bear is now a party animal who is holding John back from really growing up and taking his relationship with his girlfriend (played by Mila Kunis) to the next level. This is not, I repeat, is NOT a children’s movie.

I’m not usually one to go see comedies in theatres. I can wait for it to come out on DVD. I save my theatre money to go see movies I am really excited about or just the bigger action/adventure ones that are WAY better on the big screen.

It seems like audiences like this movie more than critics. On Rotten Tomatoes, the critics give it 68% but audiences are giving it 83%. That seems like a big difference to me.

I think I fall somewhere in between. I give the movie 3 out of 5 stars. It was funny. I did laugh out loud at plenty of the jokes, but I was also loosened up a bit by a few alcoholic drinks that came with lunch….. but some did fall flat (too many gay jokes) and without giving anything away, I did NOT like what they did at the end of the movie. I’d love to rant on about the ending here, but I’m not the spoiler type.
I do like the cameos though, like Ryan Reynolds, Norah Jones and Tom Skerritt. I am a big Giovanni Ribisi fan (anyone else remember him as Jeff Billings on the Wonder Years?) and he has some stellar dance moves in the film.
Another thing I liked is that the movie is set in a world where people are perfectly ok with a magical talking teddy bear because one has been around for 27 years and it’s just the way things are. Ted is thought of as normal, as simply a guy who had his 15 minutes of fame but is still a little bit of a novelty. It’s a world where you can go to a store and you aren’t phased at all that there’s a teddy bear ringing you through.

So the verdict is if you need a laugh, go see Ted, but if that laugh isn’t super urgent, wait and watch it at home.

~Laura

